Polar FT4 Heart Rate Monitor Running Watches Review

  • PolarFT4HeartRateMonitorMeasures only heart rate and not foot steps
  • Provides continuous, accurate heart rate to keep your fitness training simple
  • Smart Calorie feature uses your personal data to provide accurate calories burned
  • Includes heart rate chest strap made of soft fabric material that adapts to your body shape. Requires and includes chest strap for accurate heart rate
  • User replaceable battery and water resistant (30m)
  • Connects with compatible gym equipment using GymLink

The Best Reviews

Thoughts:
Initial off, all that i was hunting for in a heart monitor was the ability to see my heart rate, see if i’m in the zone, and see how numerous calories i’ve burned. This watch does all of these functions flawlessly! My household includes a history of heart connected difficulties so when i workout, i must be sure that i am not placing also a great deal tension on my heart whilst still maintaining a high amount of work. I use this mainly in the course of cardio routines of P90X but i’ll use this more for running once it gets warm outdoors.

Functionality/Use:
The watch is extremely easy to make use of. When you first open the box, you undergo a setup wizard on the watch asking you to input information and facts such a weight, gender, and units preferences to far better tailor the outcomes for the individual. After that, you are literally all set to workout. While many people have had problems getting the watch to choose up the signal from the strap, i have located that licking or wetting the strap operates wonders!
Something else that i’d like to point out is that the watch possess the capability to **beep** when you are out of one’s zone (either not operating difficult sufficient or functioning way tougher than you should be) that is certainly priceless! I have located sometimes during my workouts that i’m pushing myself seriously hard and i end up obtaining my heart rate above 185 BPM which is not definitely the very best point to do. This **beep** is terrific for some workouts but terrible for other folks. Luckily, you’ll be able to turn the **beep** off quite simply. I favor to turn the beep off if i’m going to do interval training like sprints or one thing where my BPM is just not normally inside the zone.

Other:
Just a couple of quick points i would prefer to point out. I’ve read online that detaching the heart rate pod in the strap will make the battery final longer. I am not positive this really does something, nevertheless it offers me ease of mind pondering that i am truly producing it final longer.

Pros:
Lightweight
Comfy
Effortless to use
**Beep** when outdoors of your “zone” is a wonderful feature that could be turned on/off
Cons:
None

Overall:
Overall, i can’t think of a improved watch to commit my revenue on. No, this does not give graphs on how you happen to be carrying out over time but which is not what I was seeking for. This can be a excellent buy and i have used it for a excellent period of time and have had no concerns at all with it.
__________________________________________________
UPDATE #1: Right after two MONTHS
___________________________________________________

Soon after two months, this watch is still operating perfectly! I have had no problems and i adore that i have the capability to appear at combined totals of my workouts! As of nowadays, i’ve burned more than 35,000 calories!!! This function is a thing that keeps you motivated to help keep working difficult. Just before this watch, i under no circumstances was that into working out. Now when i run, instead of going a certain distance, i like to aim for a caloric purpose (about 1,000) prior to i end my workout.

I nevertheless extremely advocate this watch to any one seeking to get a wonderful heart monitor!

___________________________________________________
UPDATE #2: April 4th, 2013
___________________________________________________
I just started the Insanity exercise series currently and this watch comes in handy! I’m in a position to determine if I’m over/underworking in order that i can acquire my targets. Some thing i wanted to throw around was cleaning this unit. I know that sweating all more than some thing causes bacteria to develop and i also noticed immediately after a although, salt (from my sweat) would develop up around the chest strap.

I clean it like so;

CLEANING:
-Watch
~Wipe down with a Clorox Bleach Wipe
~Soak in some hot water for a handful of seconds
~Dry
~Strap
~Wipe down having a Clorox Bleach Wipe
~Place inside the washing machine on A very GENTLE SETTINGS
~Allow to air-dry
~HRM Pod
~Wipe down having a Clorox Bleach Wipe
~Soak in some hot water for any few seconds
~Dry

The Bad Reviews

I’m really disappointed with my obtain — and have returned the watch — only to have been charged a $15 restocking charge?!!! 5 days following the return policy expired (total of 35 days of ownership), the watch failed — wasn’t reading my heart rate, wasn’t calculating calories burned, you name it, it wasn’t functioning. The return policy was 30 days. So, I figured a affordable representative would understand that anything that costs this much and breaks 35 days immediately after ownership, would definitely refund my income. NO!! They refunded everything EXCEPT for a $15 re-stocking fee? Actually? You’re going to re-stock a defective item? This can be crazy! I can not think anybody would engage in such poor customer support practices.

The truth is, I bought this item on a recommendation from one of my members at my fitness center. She had the Exact exact same problem but chose to not return hers. Do not purchase this item. Do not purchase something POLAR. Your company practices are completely unreasonable.

What about your Comment?
Comment It!

Leave a Reply

