Garmin Forerunner 10 GPS Watch Running Watches Review

  • GarminForerunner10GPSHigh sensitivity GPS receiver
  • Records position, speed/pace, distance and calories
  • Easy-to-use, button operated
  • Virtual Pacer compares current pace to target
  • Auto Lap and pause
  • Display size, WxH: 0.81″ x 0.77″ Display resolution, WxH: 55 x 32 pixels
  • Water resistant: yes (50m) GPS-enabled: yes High-sensitivity receiver: yes History: 7 activities

The Best Review

I had been applying a heartrate monitor for the last couple of years but grew tired of that and didn’t uncover the info it gave to become all that beneficial. What I actually wanted to understand was how far I had run and how quickly I was presently running. So, when I identified the reasonably priced F10 it seemed like an excellent match, and it is actually.

The watch is a extremely reasonable size. Larger than most committed watches but lots smaller sufficient to be comfy and unobtrusive. The watch keeps track of pace, time, distance and calories burned. You can find two show pages which is usually toggled having a button. The information displayed on each web page is customizable within the “Run Options” menu. I set mine up to show Pace & Distance on the main page, which is what I’m really interested in, and Time & Calories on the second page, which I never look at while running.

The GPS takes a couple of minutes to lock on to a signal when first turned on. Once it took 7 or 8 minutes and I had to stand around outside. But other times it has locked on in 4 seconds (I timed it) while sitting at my desk inside my house! As I write this, I just tested the GPS lock-on time. It took 18 seconds! It likely varies depending on the location of the GPS satellites. If the satellites are in a favorable position, it locks on quickly, if not … well. Overall, this has not been an issue. Once the GPS has locked on, you actually start your run with the press of a button. You don’t have to stand around at your starting location waiting for it to lock onto a GPS signal. I let it lock on while I’m inside my house, then I go outside to my starting point and begin my run as I press the start button. Simple.

The GPS tracks quite well, accurately tracking when I cross the street or make odd turns, though it seems to often round-off square corners.

The instant pace display is pretty consistent. Likely it averages sensing over maybe 10 seconds, but I have seen it track my sprints across streets to avoid traffic.

I love the Auto Pause option (settable in the Run Options menu) that excludes time spent standing still or walking pretty slowly. I used to hate having to wait to cross a street because it would throw off my pace calculations. Don’t have to worry about that anymore!

The latest firmware update is V2.20 which lets you choose the type of pace information and facts from instantaneous pace, pace from last lap point, or overall average pace. So those who want to know their overall pace while running a race can have that information. For me, I just want to understand how rapidly I’m operating right now.

What I actually like is that, applying this watch, I’m not stuck to any particular course. I always like to keep track of how far I run and my overall pace. Before, this meant I had to run on known routes where I had previously measured the distance. Now, with the GPS, I run whatever route I want, and I always know how far I’ve gone. It makes my running much more flexible, free and spontaneous.

The F10 does not have the option to use having a heartrate monitor. I suppose if you are seriously serious about running, this could be helpful details. Even if you’re not a serious runner, that information could still be interesting, especially when matched with the pace and elevation changes that the GPS (throuch the Garmin website) provides. When the tech advances in a few years maybe I’ll upgrade to a different unit, or maybe not. This can be a pretty sweet GPS that I’m really happy with so far.

The Bad Review

I’ve been making use of the [discontinued] Garmin 205 for that final four many years and because I adore it, I believed I would deal with myself to a fresh, smaller sized, brightly colored Garmin. I study the critiques to the ten and it sounded best.

This GPS watch has very quick battery life. I did not even believe to verify the battery specs due to the fact my 205 lasts for many hours of working just before I’ve to charge it. According to the specs, the Garmin 10’s battery only lasts for 5 hrs and so I don’t know what the reality is, but I think that’s too short. Bear in mind with the battery limitations on this view.

With that stated, I would’ve stored the view due to the fact it can be so tiny and lightweight. It really is incredibly comfortable to wear and never bulky in any way. In contrast on the previous 205, you don’t even really feel this ten on your wrist. The interface is relatively easy. In case you are employed to the fancier Garmins, then read up on this watch; it really is functions are pared down plus the information fields are not customizable.

Here’s the major fail: I initially wore the view on the 6-mile run and it worked fine. Two days later on I made use of it on a 20-miler and just after a even though I observed the distance was caught at ten.46 miles. The time kept going, but the distance did not move. I attempted to acquire it going yet again (without the need of shedding the run data) and it was just frozen. (There was absolutely almost nothing concerning the Garmin plus the satellites, not just one tree, or creating, or maybe a cloud.) My speed did display and appeared about right. When I received house and downloaded the data, it showed the accurate time invested running and in many cases an accurate path/map of the place I had run (in Garmin Connect), but it only reported 10.46 miles. So the speed it recorded was way way off. Because it recorded my entire running path, it couldn’t have misplaced satellite signal. I don’t run 20-milers incredibly frequently, so when I do I want an accurate recording of my stats. Regretably, the Garmin 10 did not provide.

What about your Comment?
Comment It!

Leave a Reply

